News Archive

STEM Awards Honor Excellence in Engineering and Sciences

Since 1998, the Leonard C. Nelson College of Engineering and Sciences has recognized those students who excel both in and out of the classroom at the annual STEM Awards banquet. Now in its 17th year, the ceremony honored more than 30 dedicated students on Thursday, April 24 in the Tech Center Ballroom.

During the banquet, students from each of the college’s nine departments are recognized for their outstanding academic performance or their active participation in students groups and other activities.

“Every year I look forward to the awards banquet. It’s a great opportunity to recognize the exceptional work of students in their studies and in their service to the institution,” said Dr. Paul Steranka, associate dean and professor at the college.

In addition to the student awards, three Hazelton/Mellow Endowed Scholarships were awarded to WVU Tech students Wesley Cunningham, Jordan Lewis and Harrison Martin.

Check out photos from the banquet on the WVU Tech Flickr page.

WVU Tech would like to congratulate this year’s honorees:

Ashley Westfall – Outstanding Information Systems Student
Joshua Sizemore – Outstanding Information Systems Student

Joshua Keiffer – Outstanding Computer Science Student
Kiarash Tirandazi – Outstanding Computer Science Student

Lauren Caldwell – Outstanding Senior Math Student
Branden Frazier – Outstanding Junior Math Student
Dustin Sauriol – Outstanding Junior Math Student
Kyle Diem – Outstanding Junior Math Student
Loren Jackson Fox – Outstanding Freshman Math Student

Juan Suarez Trujillo – Outstanding Academic Achievement
Branden Frazier – Outstanding Academic Achievement
Kaylah Bovard – Outstanding Academic Performance and Her Contribution to the Mini Baja Buggy Project
Derek Burdette – Outstanding Academic Achievement and His Leadership role in the Pi Tau Sigma, Mechanical Engineering Honorary Society
Thy Dinh – For his Dedication to NASA SPACE CLUB Activities and Outreach
Walter Engels – For his Achievement in Publishing/Presenting His Paper at the ASEE Conference & Receiving Third Place for Best Undergraduate Student Paper Award

Shae Shamblen – AIChE Outstanding Senior

Daniel Hull – Outstanding Civil Engineering Technology Student
James Ferrell – Outstanding Electronics Engineering Technology Student
Bradley Ponchak – Outstanding Mechanical Engineering Technology Student
Jorge Zapata – Outstanding Industrial Technology Student

Jacob Riggins – Academic Achievement Award in Chemistry

Michala Dean – Academic Excellence Award in Biology
Brittini Lilly – Outstanding Service Award in Biology
Jonathan Eske – Senior Academic Excellence Award in Biology

Brandon Cole – Outstanding Computer Engineering Student Award
Dustin Sauriol – Outstanding Computer Engineering Student Award

Drew Fields – Outstanding Electrical Engineering Student Award
Amber Toney – Outstanding Service Award

Jacob Harper – Bryan Bills Award
Kyle Diem – Outstanding Civil Engineering Junior Award
Rachel Facemire – Outstanding Civil Engineering Senior Award
James Ramsey – Outstanding Civil Engineering Sophomore