News Archive

Final Candidates Named for the Dean of the Leonard C. Nelson College of Engineering and Sciences

The WVU Tech Dean of the Leonard C. Nelson College of Engineering and Sciences Search Committee has invited four candidates to campus for interviews. The final candidates include: Dr. Steven D. Leftwich, Dr. Zeljko “Z” Torbica, Dr. Christopher W. Pong, and Dr. Seshadri Mohan.

The visitation schedules for each candidate are being finalized, but will include interviews with the Campus CEO, associate provost, executive staff, faculty, staff and students. Each of the candidate’s schedules will be distributed to the campus community prior to their visit.

The search committee is being chaired by Dr. Stephen Goodman and includes the following members of the WVU Tech community: Dr. Moayyad AlNasra, Barbara Boyd, Dr. Stephen Brown, Dr. Lisa Ferrara, Dr. Ranjith Munasinghe, Dr. Larry Nottingham, Dr. Ernest Nester, Dr. Govindappa Puttaiah, Dr. Mark Wilson and Jared Higginbotham.

About the Final Candidates: 
Steven D. Leftwich earned his Ph.D. in civil engineering from the University of Virginia in 1980. He is currently the civil engineering department chair at WVU Tech in Montgomery, W.Va.

Zeljko “Z” Torbica earned his Ph.D. from the University of Florida in 1997. He is currently the program director and associate clinical professor of construction management at Drexel University.

Christopher W. Pong received his Ph.D. in civil/structural engineering from the State University of New York at Buffalo. He is currently the director of the School of Engineering at San Francisco State University.

Seshadri Mohan earned his Ph.D. in electrical and computer engineering in 1979 from McMaster University in Ontario, Canada. Mohan is currently the chair of the systems engineering department at the University of Arkansas in Little Rock, Ark.